Attorneys General Band Together to Prohibit Mandatory Arbitration


Earlier this month, 56 attorneys general of the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and the Virgin Islands implored Congress in a letter to prohibit mandatory arbitration clauses of workplace sexual harassment claims and allow victims to have their day in court.  The letter also frowned upon the secrecy requirements of arbitration clauses, which “disserve the public interest by keeping both the harassment complaints and any settlements confidential.” 

It remains to be seen whether Congress will act upon the letter but it appears that the issues of sexual harassment will remain in the forefront of the Nation’s mindset for a long time to come.

Category Type: